University of Manitoba
PhD Student
Canada
jyoti@cs.umanitoba.ca

Welcome :)

I am a PhD student in the Department of Computer Science, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, Canada. At present I am working under the supervision of Dr. Stephane Durocher. I received the MSc. degree from University of Manitoba, and the B.Sc. engineering degree from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET). My supervisor in my M.Sc. was Dr. Stephane Durocher, and in my undergraduate was Dr. Md. Saidur Rahman. I am infinitely indebted to all my supervisors for their inspiration, guidance, and support throughout my research career.

Research Interest

My research interests include graph drawing and information visualization, graph coloring and routing in ad hoc wireless networks.

A short cv is here

More About Me...

I started my research career with graph drawing algorithms, but soon I decided not to end the career with just drawings. Hence I started to study graph labeling and coloring algorithms. However, graph drawing is my passion and I don't still understand why I like it so much. Perhaps because everyone loves his childhood. But who knows what will happen...and same for me...I found computer vision, software engineering and combinatorial enumeration very interesting on my way to PhD, may be I would like to work on these area in near future.

Since graph drawing is a playground of geometry and combinatorics, I often deal with both. But sometimes it is too cold in Manitoba to play :( I mean...being born in the tropical region, I am not a ice-hokey or ice-skating type person. Consequently, I escape a fraction of Winter by going back my home in Bangladesh. But Summer here is a good time to play. I like to travel, but almost half of my long trips in the past ended up in some playground (i.e. research lab or conference). I usually take photos to keep memories (images are space-consuming, and I prefer not to fill my brain with them). I would like to share some of these photos with you through this webpage.

Just to see whether we have anything in common... I like fishing, reading, cycling, hiking, camping, but not good at any of these.





size=25
Visit Count Since May 29, 2011
some_text