DEPARTMENTAL COMMITTEES

Updated October 30, 2014

General Policy on Committee Membership (approved at Dept. Council Mar 18/03)

- Members shall be elected to Departmental committees, and external committees that do not have specified terms, for a fixed term of 2 or 3 years (as determined by Departmental Council), with an approximately equal number of replacement members elected each year.
- Members shall be eligible for re-election.

DEPARTMENTAL COMMITTEES

UNDERGRADUATE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

This committee is chaired by the Associate Head (Undergraduate). There is one member in each of the three areas (Theory, Fundamentals, Applications), and one with special responsibilities for core curriculum. These serve three year terms. There is 1 undergraduate student, and 1 graduate student, selected annually. The Department Head is a member, ex officio, and the Administrative Assistant acts as recording secretary.

J. Braico (09/12 – 09/15) (Core) B. Li (09/14-09/17) (Theory)

J. Anderson (voting ex officio) N. Bruce (09/12 - 09/15) (Applications)

M. Domaratzki (Chair – Associate Head) Grad Student TBD

C. Leung (09/13 – 09/16) (Fundamentals) Brittany Postnikoff (u/g rep) postnikb@myuman...

GRADUATE STUDIES COMMITTEE

This committee is chaired by the Associate Head (Graduate). There are 5 members serving three year terms. The Department Head and the instructor of COMP 7220 are members, ex officio. There is one graduate student member, selected annually. The Administrative Assistant acts as recording secretary.

S. Durocher - Chair – Associate Head (09/13- 09/16)

J. Anderson (voting ex officio)

H. Hemmati (09/14-09/17)

J. Young (9/14-9/17)

N. Bruce (09/13 - 09/16)

Y. Wang (9/12 - 9/15)

R. Thulasiram (09/14-09/15)

Debajyoti Mondal (14-15)

L. Hermiston ex officio

AWARDS COMMITTEE

There are four faculty members elected by Departmental Council and serving 3-year terms. One of these is designated as the Chair by the Department Head. There is one Graduate student, selected annually. The Department Head is a member, ex officio, and the Administrative Assistant acts as recording secretary.

R. Eskicioglu (9/14-9/15) (Chair)

J. Anderson (voting ex officio)

Y. Wang (9/13-9/16)

H. Hemmati (9/14-9/17)

A. Bunt (09/14-09/16)

Khalad Hasan (Grad Student - 09/13-09/14)

L. Hermiston ex officio

INDUSTRIAL LIAISON COMMITTEE

This committee is chaired by the Head. There are four additional members serving 3-year terms.

J. Anderson (voting *ex officio*)

J. Baltes (09/13 - 09/16)

M. Zapp (09/12-09/15)

OUTREACH AND RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

There are 5 members serving three year terms.

- M. Zapp (Chair) (9/14 -8/17)
- J. Anderson (voting *ex officio*)
- J. Braico (9/13 9/16)
- C. Penner (9/12 8/15) (leave replacement: H. Hemmati to 12/2014)
- J. Bate (9/14 8/17)

Brittany Postnikoff (postnikb@myumanitoba.ca) 14/15

GRADUATE APPEALS COMMITTEE (elected on an "as needed" basis)

The GAC consists of four faculty members, and two additional faculty members as alternates, elected by Departmental Council, and one graduate student. All faculty members must be members of the Faculty of Graduate Studies. No member may concurrently be a member of the GSC. Any member who is responsible for the decision/recommendation under consideration, or who is otherwise materially involved in the case being considered, shall excuse himself/herself from the deliberations and be replaced by an alternate.

FACULTY LEVEL COMMITTEES

FACULTY OF SCIENCE EXECUTIVE

Two year term – normally the Associate Head (Undergraduate) B. Li (Associate Head)

FACULTY OF SCIENCE COMMITTEE ON COURSES

This position is held by the Associate Head (Undergraduate)

B. Li (Associate Head)

FACULTY OF GRADUATE STUDIES FACULTY COUNCIL

This position is held by the Associate Head (Graduate).

M. Domaratzki (Associate Head)

PROMOTION COMMITTEE

Elected each year as requested by the Faculty of Science

Members for 2013-14:

M. Zapp

J. Young

R. Eskicioglu

TENURE COMMITTEE

Elected each year as requested by the Faculty of Science

Members for 2013-14:

B. Li

J. Baltes

H. Cameron

R. Eskicioglu

REPRESENTATIVE ON FACULTY LIBRARY COMMITTEE

three-year term

A. Bunt (09/12-09/15)

E.C.E. CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

three-year term

ARTS FACULTY COUNCIL

Two members, elected for three-year overlapping terms

G. Boyer (09/13 - 09/16)

J. Braico (09/11-09/14)

ENDOWMENT FUND COMMITTEE

Elected by the Faculty of Science from several departments. We do not necessarily have a member on this committee No current member. (L. Hermiston is support staff ref)

COMMITTEE ON RECRUITMENT ACTIVITIES AND EXTERNAL RELATIONS

Appointed by the Head at the request of the Faculty of Science

G. Acorn

MISCELLANEOUS

GRADUATE STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES ON DEPARTMENTAL COUNCIL

Two members are elected annually by the graduate students. (The CSGSA should do this if possible.)

Barret Ens (14-15)

Geoff Nagy (14-15)

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES ON DEPARTMENTAL COUNCIL

Two members are elected annually by the undergraduate students. (The CSSA should do this if possible.)

Brittany Postnikoff (postnikb@myumanitoba.ca) 14/15

Adam Duncan 14/15 (duncana 5 @ myumanitoba.ca)

SUPPORT STAFF REPRESENTATIVE ON DEPT. COUNCIL

Selected by the support staff.

J. Durston (no fixed term)

MEMBERS OF SENATE

Elected by and from the Faculty of Science. We do not necessarily have members of Senate.

J. Anderson